Site Leadership

Site Directors


Dr. Jonathan Bartels, Director

Jonathan is an Assistant Professor in the College of Education at the University of Alaska Anchorage. He became a member of the National Writing Project in 2007 following his participation in an Invitational Summer Institute at Tar River Writing Project (TRWP). Jonathan continued to work with TRWP serving as the site’s Associate Director/Technology Liaison. Shortly after joining the faculty at UAA’s College of Education, Jonathan joined the Alaska Writing Project in 2014.



Adam Mackie, Co-Director

Adam Mackie is an English Language Arts teacher at West Anchorage High School. He became affiliated with the National Writing Project and the Colorado State University Writing Project (CSUWP) in 2011, and has participated in Advanced Institutes, youth programs, Summer Institutes, professional development, and conference presentations for CSUWP. See “Learning Alongside: Embracing Digital Storytelling with Social Justice in Mind” on NWP’s Digital Is for a resource Adam worked on with CSUWP. Additionally, Adam served as a Technology Liaison for CSUWP for a season and help co-author an essay in Teaching in the Connected Learning Classroom in 2014. After moving to Anchorage, Alaska, in 2015, Adam joined the Alaska Writing Project’s 2016 Summer Institute and leadership team as a co-director.

Mindi Vogel, Co-Director

Mindi VogelMindi teaches 6-12 grade English Language Arts at Polaris K-12 School. She first came to the National Writing Project through the Homer, Alaska Open Institute in 2012. For Mindi, everything writing-project-related that followed Homer was transformative. As a writer she created a blog, Alaska Good Life, where she pursues poetry and photography. Professionally, she aspires to write about her work. She first published an article with Joe Seitz in the English Journal (March 2016). Teaching Writers, Not Writing was accepted by the column A Thousand Writers: Voices of the NWP. With the Alaska Writing Project, she has participated in an Advanced Institute, Summer Institute, professional development, round table presentations at NWP, and helped facilitate several writing retreats. Mindi currently serves AWP as an co-director.


Teacher Consultants


2017 Invitational Summer Institute

2017 AWP Invitational Summer Institute

Co-Directors: Adam Mackie and Mindi Vogel. Teacher Consultants: Megan McBride, Lindsy Farren, Jean Poulsen, Alex Troll, Andria Liesse, Lisa Tran, April DuClos, and Angie Whaley


2016 Invitational Summer Institute

2016 AWP Summer Institute

Facilitators: Jonathan Bartels, Joe Seitz. Brittany Bauman, Regan Brooks, Arika Browne, Heather Gurgess, Jonathan Carrasco, Roxanne DeMoss, Julie Eikenbary, Kim Girard, Andrea Hale, Adam Mackie, Sara Mullen, Mindi Vogel, Doniel Wolfe.